Writing Competitions

Are you interested in writing competitions? Here you will find a summary of excerpts from recently announced competitions. Click the competition title to read more details.

Although the competitions may be conducted by the FAW NSW state body or by its Branches, they are still open to the general public, unless stated to the contrary. You may also find some outstanding writing opportunities from other groups but FAW NSW takes no responsibility for competitions administered by other organisations. 

For Conditions of Entry relating to individual competitions, and to obtain an entry form (where required), contact the relevant competition organisers.

Seniors Card Short Story Competition

Closing date: 1st JUNE 2018

The Department of Family and Community Services, NSW Seniors Card and FAW announce the launch of a joint project to be held between
1st Feb—1st June 2018.


FAW NSW Hilarie Lindsay Young Writers 2018

Poetry Competition for Australian School Children

Closing date: Friday 31 August 2018

Entries are sought in the following categories:

  • SECTION 1: Years 10, 11 & 12 (max lines 60). Prize $200.


FAW NSW Walter Stone 2018 Life Writing Award

Closing date: 31 August 2018

Prize: $1,500

The Award is for a Life Writing, defined as a work of biography, autobiography, memoir, monograph, bibliography. Biography and autobiography may be an extract to meet the word count requirements which is a minimum of 10,000 and a maximum of 25,000.


FAW NSW Jean Stone 2018 Poetry Award

Closing date: 31 August 2018

Prize: $500

The Award is for a poem or group of poems up to 60 lines. The competition is open to all residents of Australia 18 years and over.


ACU 2018 Prize for Poetry

Closing date: 20 July 2018.

Australian Catholic University has announced its 2018 Prize for Poetry, with the theme ‘Empathy’.

The competition is judged by Australian poet, distinguished academic, and critic Professor Chris Wallace-Crabbe, who is one of the best known figures in Australia’s literary community and enjoys a wider reputation in the international world of letters.


FAWQ 2018 Literary Competition

Closing date: 30 June 2018.

The Fellowship of Australian Writers Queensland is pleased to again host its annual literary competition. The submission categories are:

  • Short Story to 2000 words
  • Flash Fiction to 300 words
  • Poetry to 40 lines

Prizes for each category:

First Prize $200
Second Prize $100
Third Prize $50

To enter,


The 2018 Dorothea Mackellar Poetry Awards for School Children

Closing date 30 June 2018:

Since 1984, the Dorothea Mackellar Poetry Awards – a national competition – has provided children from K-12 an opportunity to write their own poetic masterpieces.

The awards are based in the Mackellar Centre in Gunnedah,


Scribes Writers “Poetic Licence” Poetry Competition 2018

Closing date: 30 June 2018

Category A: Traditional Verse
Category B: Free Verse

Theme: Open. Line Count: 60 Maximum (excluding Title).
Prizes (each category): 1st $200; 2nd $100.


Birdcatcher Books 2018 Short Story Award

Closing date: 31 May 2018.

Open to Australian and New Zealand writers.

First prize is AU$250, second AU$100 and third AU$50, with the best entries to be published in an anthology.

Entry fees are $8 for a single entry,


2018 Hunter Writers Centre Grieve Writing Competition

Closing date: Monday 28 May 2018

Entries are open to all Australians for the 2018 Grieve Writing Competition (for prose and poetry), now in its 6th year.

Submit a story, maximum 500 words, or a poem up to 36 lines.


The Best of Times short story competition – Autumn 2018

Closing date: Monday 30 April 2018

For humorous short stories (any theme) up to 2500 words.
First prize: $300-$500 (depending on number of entries), second prize: $100.
No entry form is required.


Sutherland Shire Literary Competition

Closing date: Monday 30 April 2018

The inaugural Sutherland Shire Literary Competition is set to celebrate the exciting breadth of literary talent that exists not only across the Sutherland Shire but the whole of our nation,


May Gibbs Children’s Literature Trust 2019

2019 Creative Time Residential Fellowships.

Closing date: Monday 30th April 2018

Published authors or illustrators of at least one book for children or young people are invited to apply for “the gift of time”. The May Gibbs Children’s Literature Trust provides delightful accommodation,


2018 Banjo Paterson Writing Awards

Closing date: Friday 20 April 2018

Orange City Library, the Central Western Daily and ABC Central West Radio have opened this year’s Banjo Paterson Writing Awards for entries, with Prizemoney Doubled for this year’s competition.


Call for Submissions:
LoveOzYA Short Stories

Short tales from the Australian writers of tomorrow.

Closing date: 15 April 2018

Underdog will be the first #LoveOzYA short story anthology for unpublished Australian writers. The organisers are seeking submissions from Australian young adult fiction writers of all ages and are particularly interested in short stories that celebrate the diverse,


The 2018 ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize

Closing date: 10 April 2018

Australian Book Review welcomes entries in the 2018 ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize for an original short story. Entry is open to anyone in the world who is writing in English.