The 2019 Commonwealth Short Story Prize

Closing date: 01 November 2018

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is awarded for the best piece of original, unpublished short fiction (2,000–5,000 words). No restrictions on genre or theme.

Entries are accepted from Commonwealth citizens from five Commonwealth regions. Australia is in Region 5, Pacific. The other four regions are Africa, Asia, Canada & Europe, and Caribbean.

Regional winners (one from each region) will receive £2500 and the overall winner will receive £5000.

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is run by London-based Commonwealth Writers, the cultural initiative of the Commonwealth Foundation, the Commonwealth’s agency for civil society that supports people’s participation in democracy and development.

Entry is free.

To read the Rules of the competition and to submit your entry online, visit


Posted in Closed Competitions

Writing Competitions