The 2018 Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Awards


Closing date: Monday 2 July 2018

Nominations for the prestigious Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award, presented by Waverley Council, opened on Wednesday May 2. The Nib, now in its 17th year, is the only major national literary award to be offered by a local council, offering a prize pool of $30,000 across four categories.

The Nib recognises and celebrates quality research and writing across the country and encourages both emerging and established writers to submit works across all genres and subjects.

This year’s award program covers four categories:

  • Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award $20,000
  • Nib Military History Prize, $3000
  • Alex Buzo Shortlist Prize, (six prizes of $1000 each)
  • Nib People’s Choice Prize, $1000

Nominations will be judged on the quality of research, literary merit, readability and value to the community.

Titles first published between 30 June 2017 and 1 July 2018 are eligible for this year’s award program. Full nomination guidelines and submission details:

The Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award is administered and presented annually by Waverley Council with the support of Principal Sponsors Mark and Evette Moran and the generous assistance of their community partners.

For further information, please contact Debbie McInnes, DMCPRMEDIA
Phone: 02 9550 9207 | Email:


Posted in Closed Competitions

Writing Competitions