Ray Koppe Young Writers’ Residency

Applications close: Monday 2 May 2016.

The Australian Society of Authors (ASA) will accept applications for the annual Ray Koppe Young Writers’ Residency from Thursday 31 March 2016. The program is open to writers who have not yet had a full-length work published and have a limited publication history of short works. Judges will accept submissions across a range of genres, and will select the winner based on literary merit. The winner will be offered a week’s stay at Varuna, The Writers’ House [www.varuna.com.au] in Katoomba NSW, to support the development of a work-in-progress.

This residency was established in 2011 by the Koppe family as a tribute to their mother, Ray Koppe. Ray, who for many years managed the business affairs of the ASA, was always passionately interested in and supportive of young writers. The inaugural winner of the program, Renae Haywood, had her first book published by Walker Books in September 2013. Other past winners include Dimitra Harvey (2012), Hannah Bent (2013), Danielle Binks (2014) and Chloe Higgins (2015).

Applicants must be Associate members of the ASA, working on a specific writing project and under the age of 30 on the closing date. They must also have no more than eight short pieces in total published in journals, collections and/or anthologies, including commissioned creative blog-posts and digital publications. Applicants do not need to have any pieces published to be eligible to apply.

Eligibility Criteria and Submission Guidelines are available at: www.asauthors.org/ray-koppe-young-writers-residency. Applicants should read the Frequently Asked Questions before preparing their submission.

Applications open: Thursday 31 March 2016
Applications close: Monday 2 May 2016
For more information contact Laurine Croasdale, Professional Development Officer at the Australian Society of Authors on 02 9211 1004 or

Posted in Closed Competitions

Writing Competitions