EJ Brady Short Story Competition

Closing date: Wednesday 28 February 2018

The Mallacoota Arts Council is again presenting the EJ Brady Short Story Competition for 2017-2018.


  • The Gabo Prize for very short stories – max. 700 words
  • The Betka Prize for humorous stories – max. 1000 words
  • The Mallacoota Prize for short stories – max. 2500 words.

Prizes (in Australian Dollars):

  • $500 to the winner of the Gabo Prize
  • $1000 to the winner of the Betka Prize
  • $2000 to the Mallacoota Prize winner and $300 to the runner-up.

Entry Fees:

  • Gabo Prize $8 per entry
  • Betka Prize $10 per entry
  • Mallacoota Prize $12 per entry.

For further information, terms and conditions of entry, and to submit your entry either online or by post, please visit the competition website mallacootaartscouncil.com.au/ej-brady-short-story-competition/


Posted in Closed Competitions

Writing Competitions