Blog Archives

Competition Results and Winning Entries.

Judge’s Report for Marjorie Barnard Award, 2015

Pippa Kay wrote:

It is always a pleasure to read the stories submitted for this award, and this year’s 75 entries were all interesting, amusing or dramatic. The difficulty is deciding a winner!

This year I was fussier than usual: stories with poor openings,

Read more ›

Posted in Competition Results

Judge’s Report for Mona Brand Award 2015

I (Wayne – WebMaster) thought this was excellent commentary from Jacqueline Winn and deserved its own separate post. Looking for feedback on writing for a competition? Have a read of this:

Whenever I judge a short story competition, I’m taken through a whirl of characters and circumstances, as well as a wealth of genres and styles.

Read more ›

Posted in Past Events, Competition Results

Mona Brand Biennial Competition Results – 2015

The Central Coast Branch of the Fellowship of Australian Writers has announced the winners of the Mona Brand Biennial Competition.

Congratulations to everyone involved.

Read more ›

Posted in Competition Results

Eastwood-Hills Competition Results

Results of the Eastwood/Hills FAW 2015 Literary Competition


(Judges Philippa Holland and Laura Davies)

‘The Land Army’, Mark Fowler;
‘A Women on the Boards’, Mark Fowler
‘Plots for Sale’, Cynthia Rowe
‘In Late Summer’,

Read more ›

Posted in Competition Results

Jean Stone Award 2014

The FAW Jean Stone Award 2014 for POETRY was won by
Caroline Glen for ‘West for Wonder’ (published below)…

West for Wonder

Caroline Glen

Here, the plains, hammered flat grass,
hand over hand
to the horizon’s curved thread;
Its shrubs,

Read more ›

Posted in Competition Results

Hilarie Lindsay Young Writers 2014

Winners of the 2014 FAW Hilarie Lindsay Young Writers Awards for POETRY were:

  • Section 1—Years 10, 11 and 12:

    (No award given).

  • Section 2—Years 7, 8 and 9:

    Lewis Orr for ‘Regret’.

  • Section 3—Years 5 and 6:

    Sakalaia Soakai for ‘Sounds in the Night’.

Read more ›

Posted in Competition Results

Walter Stone Award 2014

The FAW Walter Stone Award 2014 for Life Writing was won by:

Julie Weatherburn for

Swimming Across Myself.  

Read more ›

Posted in Competition Results