Yearly Archives: 2014

Hilarie Lindsay Young Writers 2014

Winners of the 2014 FAW Hilarie Lindsay Young Writers Awards for POETRY were:

  • Section 1—Years 10, 11 and 12:

    (No award given).

  • Section 2—Years 7, 8 and 9:

    Lewis Orr for ‘Regret’.

  • Section 3—Years 5 and 6:

    Sakalaia Soakai for ‘Sounds in the Night’.

Read more ›

Posted in Competition Results

Walter Stone Award 2014

The FAW Walter Stone Award 2014 for Life Writing was won by:

Julie Weatherburn for

Swimming Across Myself.  

Read more ›

Posted in Competition Results

The Years that the locust hath eaten

Marjorie Quinn

Marjorie Quinn was the founding honorary secretary of the Fellowship of Australian Writers. In the 1960s she wrote her memoirs, a veritable who’s who of the literati of Sydney in the years before and after the war. She travelled with her father in his Australian government role and so the book also opens up a world that is of great interest to historians.

Read more ›

Posted in Bookshelf

Musings at Death’s Door

An ancient bicultural Asian-Australian ponders about Australian society
Raja Arasa Ratnam

This book is a hard-hitting, critically analytical, yet favourable, presentation of the author’s adopted nation, reflecting more than six decades of a highly interactive and contributory life, including holding leadership positions in civil society, in a fast-evolving nation. The following endorsement says it all…

Raja Ratnam has lived a full life and made significant contributions to Australian life over six decades.

Read more ›

Posted in Bookshelf